

All-Party Parliamentary Group on Fair Business Banking Annual General Meeting Minutes 13 March 2024 – 13:00 – Room B, 1 Parliament Street Chair – William Wragg MP

1. Attendees

- William Wragg MP
- Peter Dowd MP
- Dame Margaret Hodge MP
- Lord Waverly
- Lord Cromwell

2. Regrets

- Ben Lake MP
- Sammy Wilson MP
- Peter Gibson MP
- Ruth Jones MP

3. Thanks: to our donors

- Joffe Trust
- Open Society Foundation
- Allica Bank
- Thanks to our secretariat (The Athena Foundation); to independent research (hosted by WPI Economics).

4. Note: new rules and guidance for APPGs, approved by the Committee on Standards

5. Election of Officers: Chair and Vice-Chair x3

- William Wragg MP elected Chair
- Peter Dowd MP elected Vice-Chair
- Lord Cromwell elected Vice-Chair
- Alison Thewliss elected Vice-Chair

6. Approval of Income and Expenditure Statement

- (overview of Secretariat finances)
- Income and expenditure statement unanimously approved.
- 7. Summary 2023/4

- Three workstreams discussed: SME access to finance, financial redress and compensation, future of financial regulation.
- SME access to finance: work involved debanking report, SME Manifesto production, working towards a Fair Banking Act.
- Compensation and redress: work involved continuing to push for the recommendations of our report on Building a Framework for Compensation and Redress to be implemented, challenging the BBRS, holding the Foskett Panel to account, continuing our IRHP Judicial Review.
- Future of financial regulation: work included pushing for changes to the Financial Services and Markets Bill, and work with the Insolvency Service.

8. Looking ahead to 2024/5

- SME Manifesto
- IRHP Judicial Review
- Campaigning for a Financial Services Tribunal
- BBBD on compensation and redress